Worcester Railers HC and Railers Booster Club announce 2018-19 season ending awards


The Worcester Railers HC and the Worcester Railers Booster Club announced their season ending awards at a banquet hosted by the Booster Club at the DCU Center Thursday night.

During the AHL era in Worcester the teams and Booster Club held separate awards ceremonies, but beginning with the inaugural season of the Railers the awards are a singular event with the team and boosters choosing an single winner of each award.

Voting for the awards was held at home games recently, and the winners are:
Best Offensive Player: Tyler Barnes
Best Defensive Player: Connor Doherty
Fan Favorite: Yanick Turcotte
Best Single Game Performance: Evan Buitenhuis (47 save shutout at Tulsa, 2/16/19, 1-0 win)
Seventh Player Award: Evan Buitenhuis
“Tough Guy” Award: Yanick Turcotte
Man of the Year Award (Charitable efforts): Connor Doherty
Rookie of the Year: Ryan Hitchcock
Most Valuable Player: Tyler Barnes

The Booster Club also announced several “Player of the Month” awards:

December: Nick Sorkin
January: Matt Schmalz
February: Tyler Barnes


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s